Themis Real Estate SICAV

What is a SICAV?

A SICAV is an SA which gives investors the status of shareholders. Investor shareholders therefore have the right to examine and vote at the shareholders’ meetings and they can influence the course of the business. It is this active and participatory aspect, which does not exist in the context of an investment fund, that we wanted to focus on in our relations with investors.
Alongside the investors is the entrepreneurial shareholder, who holds responsibility and exerts influence on SICAV management. The fund management company and the custodian bank are fully accountable to investors.
To date, out of 73 real estate funds authorized by the FINMA, only 11 have been set up in the form of SICAVs.

Themis Real Estate SICAV is authorised by the FINMA, as well as the manager Themis Capital SA.

Organigram and partners

Board of directors Themis Real Estate SICAV

Me Laurent Schenk

Chairperson of the Board of Directors

Attorney-at-law Mr Laurent Schenk has been a notary public in Nyon since 1996. In this function he works as a director of companies in management or in other real estate sectors, with the exception of brokerage. He is also Chairperson of the Board of Directors of a cooperative company aiming to operate a port for small inland waterway boats. Attorney-at-law Mr Schenk is also member of the board of the PROFMED & PROLIBERA employee pension fund and has been a member of the support association of Hospitals in the Western Lake Geneva Area.

Me Fernand Mariétan

Vice-President of the Board of Directors

Attorney-at-law Mr Fernand Mariétan has been a notary public and attorney at law since 1981. He has been President of GESSIMO SA in Monthey and Director of different companies, most especially of Banque Cantonale du Valais in Sion. He is also member of the Foundation Boards of Greenbrix Investment Foundation in Geneva and Prisma Investment Foundation in Morges, both of which have real estate investment groups in Switzerland. In the scope of his mandates, Attorney-at-law Mr Marietan, as director, has high supervisory tasks of activities delegated to the management of the collective investments of capital supervised by the FINMA.

Juan Pedro Iglesias Lemos

Member of the Board of Directors

Architect working internationally, Juan Iglesias stated his career in 1999 in Japan at NK Kouenten in Tokyo, where he stayed for 6 years, during which he realised a certain number of anti-earthquake projects, in particular for the Japanese leader of construction. He also won the 1st prize of the Urban Tokyo competition.
Back in Switzerland in 2006, he participated in numerous projects, among which in the United Arab Emirates (villas, hotels and schools), in the Seychelles, in Spain and of course in Switzerland with the realisation of several important projects for Swiss institutional investors. In 2018, he joined the company CBRE Genève SA as Director – Building Consultancy where he participates in numerous important projects in Geneva, in the cantons of Vaud and Valais.

Yann Tavernier

Member of the Board of Directors

Entrepreneur Yann Tavernier has more than 20 years’ experience as manager, director and investor in enterprises active in real estate and private equity. In addition, through his professional experience, he has acquired strong management skills, which have permitted him to work also as a consultant to investors, enabling him to create asset allocation strategies. As a consequence, he has restructured, optimised and arbitrated enterprises in private equity as well as real estate stocks. He has assisted investors during real estate transactions, real estate developments and promotions, both in Switzerland as well as abroad. He has acquired experience in the development of commercial properties in urban areas and outlying suburbs.
His experience and his vision of real estate have led him to found the Themis Group and create Themis Capital and Themis Real Estate SICAV.

Approach

Our values

Themis Real Estate SICAV is built on the basis of Themis Capital SA‘s values:

Bolstered by its values, Themis Capital and Themis Real Estate SICAV put together a team of real estate, private equity and asset management professionals. Our specialities have led us to develop a vision of real estate, which we would like to share and which requires us to invest on a larger scale. This is how the idea of creating a real estate SICAV and a manager of collective assets arose.

Themis Capital SA and Themis Real Estate SICAV have been authorized by the Swiss Financial Supervisory Authority FINMA on June 4, 2020.

Our values are structured around 3 S:

Stakeholder, Societal and Social

integrating the ESG criteria

Environmental, Social and of Governance

The 3S

Stakeholder
The creation of Themis Capital SA was motivated by the desire to create a SICAV, Themis Real Estate SICAV. We have chosen the SICAV model, and not the investment fund model, as the SICAV’s investors are shareholders and therefore have a right to monitor and vote in the shareholders’ meeting. They are stakeholders and can influence the course of business, which gives them the opportunity to have an active and participatory role.

Societal
Real estate has a major role to play in the evolution of the society. A forward-looking vision of the company’s developments and needs will permit the portfolio to be positioned favourably for the future. The environmental and governance aspects are an integral part of the societal aspect and are taken into account at their fair and high value in all of the Themis Capital SA’s functioning processes.

Social
The main household expense today is allocated for accommodation. One of our fundamental values is taking everybody’s right to have the best quality accommodation possible into account.

The ESG criteria

Environmental
The enterprise’s direct or indirect impact on the environment in its investments as well as in the management and the development of its portfolio.

Social
In keeping with our vision of the 3S, the direct or indirect impact of the enterprise’s activity on the stakeholders (in particular staff members, clients, suppliers and local communities) is related to the universal values of respect, appreciation and loyalty.

Governance
Governance focuses on the manner in which the enterprise is directed, administrated and controlled (relations with shareholders, its Board of Directors and its management, transparency of the remuneration of its directors, the fight against corruption).

Loading...

Philosophy of the sub-fund Themis Property I

TRES sub-fund TP1 has delegated the management to Themis Capital SA. Its objective is to provide a regular return to its investors through dynamic and creative management, in particular through

  • Retaining tenants by providing them with something more than just a home in return for rent.

  • An entrepreneurial approach through the effective use of digital tools (Prop Tech).

  • A proactive approach to anticipate structural changes in the market (e.g. the impact of Covid-19 will change the organisation of work and society).

  • A proactive orientation towards renewable energies and energy efficiency in order to make the portfolio’s assets less energy intensive and thus move towards the zero emission target by 2030 set by the Federal Council.

The aim of this approach is to keep people at the centre of our concerns.

Investment strategy

Teleworking is becoming more widespread and should become a habit. This is generating a rapid shift of interest from the population to housing located outside the major urban centres, closer to nature but with easy access to public transport.

The aim is to maintain the substance of the investments over the long term and to distribute regular income to investors, with a target gross yield of over 4%.

The properties may be residential, commercial or mixed use. A minimum of 60% of the assets will be invested in residential properties and a maximum of 40% in commercial properties.

The strategy of the Themis Property 1 sub-fund of the SICAV is based on two axes:

Traditional acquisitions and contributions in kind (asset-swaps).

Traditional acquisition

The traditional acquisitions will constitute a portfolio mainly made up of human-sized properties, from 4 to 10 flats and worth between CHF 1 and 10 million. The geographical areas sought are suburban centres with more than 3,000 inhabitants and good transport links, or urban centres offering opportunities. French-speaking Switzerland will be favoured, but a geographical diversification towards German-speaking Switzerland will bring stability to the portfolio.

Jointly owned property may be acquired provided that the SICAV is the majority owner.

Contributions in kind (asset-swaps)

Asset-swaps allow for the integration of larger properties. The advantages for the real estate investor are detailed in the dedicated paragraph below.
The real estate investor has the possibility of integrating the SICAV through an asset-swap (full or fractional asset-swap):

Asset-Swap Schéma Themis Real Estate SICAV

The main advantages of asset-swap are:

  • Tax and asset optimisation (succession)

  • Professional property management and economies of scale

  • Diversification and better risk spreading

  • Regulatory oversight (manager and SICAV)

Benefits of the investment strategy

  • The size of the targeted properties is too small for institutional investors and too large for most private investors. This market niche is therefore less competitive to buy. In addition, these properties are generally well maintained and less expensive in terms of charges.

  • This category of property often offers tenants cheaper than average rents, making them more attractive and less likely to be badly affected in a market downturn.

  • The liquidity of the Themis Property 1 sub-fund is facilitated by the large number of small properties, making it possible to meet a possible redemption request without unbalancing the portfolio by selling a property representing a large proportion of the investments..

  • The composition of the initial portfolio is more balanced, thus providing a better spread of risk and ensuring more liquidity for investors.

Loading...

Dynamic real estate management

Active management of the properties is implemented to both improve their attractiveness and retain tenants, as well as to increase their long-term value in the interest of investors.

Themis Capital SA intends to make maximum use of Prop Tech’s remote management tools. Thanks in particular to sensors installed in the buildings, it is possible to monitor consumption and the life of objects as closely as possible, and thus to better plan future investments.

In order to better anticipate demands and changes in these, Themis Capital SA maintains direct contact with the tenants, thus playing the role of a super-management. A proactive sustainable approach is implemented to integrate environmental and social aspects into all processes.

Themis Real Estate SICAV

Was ist eine SICAV?

Eine SICAV ist eine SA, die Anlegern den Status von Aktionären verleiht. Anlegeraktionäre haben daher das Recht, auf der Hauptversammlung zu prüfen und abzustimmen, und sie können den Geschäftsverlauf beeinflussen. Auf diesen aktiven und partizipativen Aspekt, den es im Rahmen eines Investmentfonds nicht gibt, wollten wir uns in unseren Beziehungen zu Investoren konzentrieren.

An Seite den Investoren steht der Aktionär des Unternehmers, der die Verantwortung und den Einfluss auf das Management der SICAV hat. Das Management und die Depotbank sind gegenüber den Anlegern voll rechenschaftspflichtig.

Bisher wurden von 73 von der FINMA genehmigten Immobilienfonds nur 11 in Form von SICAVs eingerichtet.

Themis Real Estate SICAV ist von der FINMA bewilligt, ebenso wie der Manager Themis Capital SA.

Organigramm und Partner

Verwaltungsrat

Me Laurent Schenk

Präsident des Verwaltungsrates

Maître Laurent Schenk ist seit 1996 Notar in Nyon. In dieser Funktion nimmt er Verwaltungsmandate für Unternehmen wahr, die im Management und in anderen Bereichen des Immobilienwesens tätig sind – mit Ausnahme der Maklertätigkeit. Ausserdem sitzt Maître Laurent Schenk dem Verwaltungsrat einer Genossenschaft vor, die für den Betrieb eines Hafens in der Kleinschifffahrt zuständig ist.
Des Weiteren ist er Vorstandsmitglied der Vorsorgestiftung PROFMED & PROLIBERA und war ebenfalls als Mitglied des Trägervereins der gemeinnützigen Stiftung GHOL (Groupement Hospitalier de l’Ouest Lémanique) tätig.

Me Fernand Mariétan

Vizepräsident des Verwaltungsrates

Maître Fernand Mariétan ist seit 1981 Rechtsanwalt und Notar in Monthey und war Vorsitzender der GESSIMO SA in Monthey. Er hielt Verwaltungsmandate für verschiedene Unternehmen inne, darunter eines für die Banque Cantonale du Valais in Sion. Gleichzeitig ist Fernand Mariétan Mitglied in den Stiftungsräten der Anlagestiftungen Greenbrix in Genf und Prisma in Morges, die beide über Schweizer Immobilien-Investmentgruppen verfügen. Im Rahmen der Ausübung seiner Mandate verantwortet Herr Mariétan die Oberaufsicht der Aktivitäten eines Verwalters von Kollektivvermögen, an den Kapitalanlagen delegiert wurden und unter Aufsicht der FINMA (Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht) steht.

Juan Pedro Iglesias Lemos

Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates

Juan Iglesias begann seine Architektenkarriere im Jahr 1999, als er dem Büro NK Kouenten in Tokio beitrat. Dort war er sechs Jahre lang tätig und nahm an einer Reihe in von erdbebensicheren Bauprojekten teil. Hervorzuheben ist seine Arbeit für den japanischen Marktführer im Bauwesen und der erste Preis des Urban Tokyo-Wettbewerbs, mit dem er ausgezeichnet wurde.
Nach seiner Rückkehr in die Schweiz im Jahr 2006 nahm er an zahlreichen Projekten teil, unter anderem in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten (Villen, Hotels und Schulen), auf den Seychellen, in Spanien – und natürlich in der Schweiz, wo er an der Durchführung mehrerer wichtiger Projekte für Schweizer Institutionen beteiligt war. Im Jahr 2018 übernahm er den Vorsitz der Abteilung Building Consultancy der CBRE Genève SA, und beteiligt sich seitdem an zahlreichen Projekten grosser Bedeutung in Genf, in der Waadt und im Wallis.

Yann Tavernier

Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates

Mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung in der Verwaltung und Leitung von Unternehmen in den Sparten Immobilien und Private Equity verfügt Yann Tavernier über eine solide berufliche Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet, die sich auch in seinen Fertigkeiten als Berater von Investoren widerspiegelt.
In dieser Rolle hat er seine Kompetenzen bereits unter Beweis gestellt, indem er Strategien für die Assetzuweisung erarbeitet hat.
So hat er Unternehmen im Private-Equity-Sektor und Immobilienbestände neu strukturiert, optimiert und wurde als Vermittler herangezogen. Darüber hinaus hat Yann Tavernier auch Klienten im Immobilienhandel, in der Immobilienentwicklung und in der Wohnungsbauförderung begleitet, sowohl in der Schweiz als auch im Ausland. Erfahrung konnte er auch im Bereich der Erschliessung von Gewerbeflächen in städtischen und stadtnahen Gebieten sammeln. Seine Expertise und seine Sicht auf den Immobilienmarkt erklären den Antrieb, der ihn dazu bewogen hat, die Themis Gruppe zu gründen und das Fundament für die Themis Capital und die Themis Real Estate zu legen.

Ansatz

Unsere Werte

Themis Real Estate SICAV basiert auf den Werten von Themis Capital SA.

Diese Werte bilden das Fundament, um das sich Themis Capital und Themis Real Estate SICAV vereinen: Ein Team aus Experten in den Sparten Immobilien, Private Equity und Asset Management. Aus diesem vereinten Fachwissen ist auch die treibende Kraft für die Entwicklung eines neuen Immobilienkonzeptes entstanden, das wir ausbauen und teilen möchten – ein Wunsch, dem die Idee entsprungen ist, eine Immobilien-SICAV und einen Verwalter von Kollektivvermögen zu gründen.

Die Registrierung von Themis Capital SA und Themis Real Estate SICAV wurde am 4. Juni 2020 von der FINMA genehmigt.

Unsere Werte beruhen auf den Pfeilern:

Anleger, Gesellschaft und Soziales

(auf Englisch 3S: Stakeholder, Societal, Social).

Unser Wunsch ist es, diese Wertehaltung mit den drei ESG-Kriterien

Umwelt, soziale Verträglichkeit und Unternehmensführung

in Einklang zu bringen.

Die “3S”

Anleger (Stakeholder)
Die Gründung von Themis Capital SA entspringt dem Wunsch, eine Investmentgesellschaft mit variablem Kapital zu gründen, Themis Real Estate SICAV. Wir haben uns für das Modell der SICAV und nicht für das des herkömmlichen Investmentfonds entschieden, weil es den Anlegern der SICAV erlaubt, Anteilseigner zu werden und so ein Sicht- und Stimmrecht in der Hauptversammlung zu erhalten. Dadurch erhalten unsere Anleger die Möglichkeit, den unternehmerischen Kurs aktiv mitzugestalten.

Gesellschaft (Societal)
Der Immobilienmarkt beeinflusst in wesentlichem Masse die Entwicklung der Gesellschaft. Das vorausschauende Handeln im Hinblick auf die Entwicklungen und Bedürfnisse der Gesellschaft erlaubt eine optimale Positionierung des Portfolios für die Zukunft. Umweltfragen und Unternehmensführung sind Bestandteile gesellschaftlicher Aspekte und kommen in allen Geschäftsprozessen von Themis Capital SA zum Tragen.

Sozial (Social)
Heutzutage stellen die Wohnkosten den grössten Teil der Haushaltsausgaben dar. Das Recht eines jeden Menschen auf die bestmögliche Wohnung begreifen wir als einen unserer Grundwerte.

ESG-Kriterien

Umwelt (Environmental)
Die unmittelbaren oder mittelbaren Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt, die mit den Investitionen und mit der Portfolio-Verwaltung unseres Unternehmens einhergehen.

Soziale Verträglichkeit (Social)
Im Sinne unserer Wertepfeiler (3S) werden die unmittelbaren oder mittelbaren Auswirkungen unseres unternehmerischen Handelns auf Stakeholder (insbesondere Mitarbeiter, Kunden, Lieferanten und Gemeinden) mit den universellen Werten der Wertschätzung, der Loyalität und des gegenseitigen Respekts in Einklang gebracht.

Unternehmensführung (Governance)
Der Begriff Unternehmensführung deckt alle Bereiche ab, die mit der Leitung, der Verwaltung und der Aufsicht des Unternehmens verbunden sind (Beziehungen zwischen Unternehmen und Anlegern, Verwaltungsrat und dessen Leitung, transparente Vergütungspolitik, Bekämpfung von Korruption).

Loading...

Philosophie des Teilfonds Themis Property I

TRES hat das Management an Themis Capital SA delegiert. Ziel ist es, seinen Anlegern durch dynamisches und kreatives Management regelmäßige Renditen zu bieten, insbesondere durch:

  • Bindung von Mietern durch Bereitstellung von mehr als nur Wohnraum als Gegenleistung für die Zahlung der Miete.

  • Ein unternehmerischer Ansatz.

  • Ein proaktiver Ansatz zur Antizipation struktureller Veränderungen auf dem Markt (zum Beispiel werden die Auswirkungen von Covid-19 die Organisation von Arbeit und Gesellschaft stören).

  • Berücksichtigung der Ökologie des Systems.

  • Effektiver Einsatz digitaler Tools.

All dies, während die Menschen im Mittelpunkt der Besorgnis stehen.

Anlagestrategie

Telearbeit setzt sich immer mehr durch und sollte zur Gewohnheit werden. Dies führt zu einem raschen Wechsel des Interesses der Bevölkerung an Wohnungen, die außerhalb der großen städtischen Zentren liegen, näher an der Natur, aber mit einfachem Zugang zu öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.
Ziel ist es, die Substanz der Anlagen langfristig zu erhalten und regelmäßige Erträge an die Anleger auszuschütten, wobei eine Bruttorendite von über 4 % angestrebt wird.
Die Grundstücke können wohnwirtschaftlich, gewerblich oder gemischt genutzt werden. Mindestens 60 % des Vermögens werden in Wohnimmobilien und maximal 40 % in Gewerbeimmobilien investiert.
Die Strategie des Teilfonds Themis Property 1 der SICAV besteht aus zwei Teilen:

traditionelle Akquisitionen und Sacheinlagen (asset-swaps).

Traditionelle Akquisitionen

Die traditionellen Akquisitionen werden ein Portfolio bilden, das hauptsächlich aus Objekten mit menschlicher Größe besteht, mit 4 bis 10 Wohnungen und einem Wert zwischen CHF 1 und 10 Millionen. Als geografische Gebiete werden Vororte mit mehr als 3.000 Einwohnern und guter Verkehrsanbindung oder städtische Zentren mit entsprechenden Möglichkeiten gesucht. Der französischsprachige Teil der Schweiz wird bevorzugt, aber eine geografische Diversifizierung in Richtung des deutschsprachigen Teils bringt Stabilität in das Portfolio.
Immobilien im Miteigentum können erworben werden, sofern die SICAV der Mehrheitseigentümer ist.

Sacheinlagen (asset-swaps)

Asset-Swaps ermöglichen die Integration größerer Objekte. Die Vorteile für den Immobilieninvestor werden im folgenden Abschnitt ausführlich beschrieben.
Der Immobilieninvestor hat die Möglichkeit, die SICAV durch einen Asset-Swap (Sacheinlage ganz oder teilweise) einzubinden:

asset swap auf deutsch

Die Hauptvorteile des Asset-Swap sind wie folgt:

  • Steuerliche und vermögensrechtliche Optimierung (Nachfolge)

  • Professionelles Immobilienmanagement und Skaleneffekte

  • Diversifizierung und bessere Risikostreuung

  • Regulatorische Aufsicht (Manager und SICAV)

Vorteile der Anlagestrategie

  • Die Größe der anvisierten Objekte ist zu klein für institutionelle Investoren und zu groß für die meisten privaten Investoren. Diese Marktnische ist daher weniger wettbewerbsintensiv zu kaufen. Darüber hinaus sind diese Immobilien in der Regel gut gepflegt und günstiger in den Gebühren.

  • Diese Immobilienkategorie bietet Mietern oft günstigere Mieten als der Durchschnitt, was sie attraktiver macht und im Falle eines Marktabschwungs weniger wahrscheinlich in Mitleidenschaft gezogen wird.

  • Die Liquidität des Teilfonds Themis Property 1 wird durch die große Anzahl kleiner Immobilien begünstigt, was bedeutet, dass etwaige Rücknahmeanträge erfüllt werden können, ohne dass das Portfolio durch den Verkauf einer Immobilie, die einen großen Teil der Anlagen darstellt, aus dem Gleichgewicht gebracht wird.

  • Das ursprüngliche Portfolio ist ausgewogener und bietet eine bessere Risikostreuung und mehr Liquidität für die Anleger.

Loading...

Dynamische Immobilienverwaltung

Die aktive Bewirtschaftung der Immobilien dient der Verbesserung der Attraktivität und der Bindung der Mieter sowie der langfristigen Wertsteigerung im Interesse der Investoren.
Themis Capital SA beabsichtigt, die Fernverwaltungstools von Prop Tech maximal zu nutzen. Insbesondere dank der in den Gebäuden installierten Sensoren ist es möglich, den Verbrauch und die Lebensdauer der Objekte genauestens zu überwachen und somit zukünftige Investitionen besser zu planen.
Um die Nachfrage und deren Entwicklung besser antizipieren zu können, steht Themis Capital SA in direktem Kontakt mit den Mietern und spielt somit die Rolle eines Super-Managers. Ein proaktiver, nachhaltiger Ansatz wird umgesetzt, um ökologische und soziale Aspekte in alle Prozesse zu integrieren.